![]()

Leading Edge Health discloses that no independent trial of the complete Volume Pills formula exists, and details how the tablet's individually undisclosed botanical amounts compare against published research on cordyceps, reishi, amla, Arjuna, bladderwrack and other listed ingredients
VANCOUVER, British Columbia — September 25, 2026 — Leading Edge Health today published a research overview for Volume Pills, disclosing that individual amounts for the botanical ingredients in its proprietary blend are not specified on current label information, and detailing how those undisclosed amounts compare against the published research literature on each ingredient named.
“The formula brings together ingredients with very different research histories, so it is important to distinguish what has been studied independently from what has been demonstrated for the finished product,” said Kevin Shaw, Product Head at Volume Pills. “Published studies typically use defined preparations and doses, while the botanical ingredients in Volume Pills are listed within a combined blend. Those differences need to remain clear when discussing the research.”
The Central Gap: No Independent Trial of the Finished Formula
The overview’s core disclosure is a limitation rather than a feature: no clinical trial of the complete Volume Pills formulation was identified in the sources reviewed for this release. Every study discussed below examined a single botanical or nutrient in isolation, at a specific disclosed dose, in a specific study population — not the 1,482-milligram combined formula (24 mg of disclosed zinc plus a 1,458-milligram proprietary botanical blend) as sold. Leading Edge Health frames this as the fact a consumer needs before weighing any of the ingredient-level findings that follow.
What the Label Discloses — and What It Doesn’t
Volume Pills is supplied as tablets, with a labeled serving of two tablets. Published Supplement Facts information lists 24 mg of zinc individually, while the remaining ingredients — Arjuna, Ling Zhi (reishi), Emblica officinalis (amla), Fucus vesiculosus (bladderwrack), Rou Gui (cinnamon bark), Tian Men Dong, Xian Mao, Dong Chong Xia Cao (cordyceps), Ku Gua (bitter melon), Hong Hua Fen and additional plant-derived components — are combined within a 1,458-milligram proprietary blend without individual amounts disclosed. As with any proprietary blend, this means none of the botanical ingredients’ amounts can be directly compared against the doses used in the research cited below.

Zinc: An Established Nutrient With Defined Intake Guidelines
Zinc is the one component individually quantified on the label. The National Institutes of Health Office of Dietary Supplements states that zinc participates in cellular metabolism, is required for the activity of hundreds of enzymes, and contributes to protein synthesis, DNA synthesis, cell signaling, wound healing and normal immune function.[1] NIH lists a Recommended Dietary Allowance of 11 mg per day for adult men and a tolerable upper intake level of 40 mg per day from food and supplements combined — meaning Volume Pills’ 24 mg dose should be weighed against a consumer’s total daily zinc intake from other sources. NIH also notes that prolonged intake of 50 mg or more of supplemental zinc daily can interfere with copper absorption, and that zinc can interact with quinolone and tetracycline antibiotics and with penicillamine.
For more information, visit the official website VolumePills.com.
Dong Chong Xia Cao (Cordyceps): A Null Result Worth Including
A randomized controlled trial of 22 trained male cyclists evaluated 3 grams per day of a specific cordyceps preparation (CordyMax Cs-4) for five weeks, measuring aerobic capacity, ventilatory threshold and endurance time-trial performance.[2] The study found no significant improvement over placebo on aerobic capacity or endurance performance — a result the guide includes specifically because it demonstrates why a traditional botanical’s presence on a label should not be read as evidence of an effect. Because Volume Pills does not disclose how much Dong Chong Xia Cao its blend contains, this finding — whether positive, neutral or negative — cannot be transferred to the finished product either way.
Ling Zhi (Reishi): Traditional Use and Safety Considerations
Ling Zhi refers to reishi mushroom (Ganoderma lucidum). Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center’s database notes research on compounds including beta-glucan polysaccharides and triterpenes, alongside safety considerations: reported adverse effects include nausea and difficulty sleeping, rare cases of liver injury, and a documented bleeding-risk interaction for people taking anticoagulant or antiplatelet medications, plus concerns for those using immunosuppressive medicines.[3] Volume Pills’ label does not disclose reishi’s individual amount within the blend.
Emblica Officinalis (Amla): A Small Trial, Not a Product Trial
A randomized, double-blind, crossover, placebo-controlled study gave 15 healthy adults 500 mg of amla daily and examined vascular, blood, oxidative-stress, glucose and lipid measures.[4] The small sample size, the isolated preparation, and the undisclosed amount of amla in Volume Pills’ blend all limit how directly this research applies to the finished product.
Arjuna: Studies in Cardiac Patients, Not Healthy Adults
Terminalia arjuna bark has been studied in adults with diagnosed coronary heart disease — one trial gave 500 mg daily to patients alongside placebo and vitamin E arms, measuring lipid and oxidative-stress markers after 30 days; another examined 500 mg twice daily in patients with stable coronary artery disease receiving concurrent medical treatment.[5][6] Both studies involved diagnosed cardiac patients under medical protocols, a materially different population than healthy adults taking a wellness supplement, and neither can be generalized to Volume Pills given the undisclosed blend amount.
Fucus Vesiculosus (Bladderwrack): Iodine Variability
Bladderwrack is a seaweed, and seaweeds vary considerably in iodine content by species and product.[7] NIH lists a tolerable upper intake level of 1,100 micrograms of iodine daily from food and supplements; both inadequate and excessive iodine intake can affect thyroid function. Volume Pills’ label does not separately disclose bladderwrack’s amount or an attributable iodine quantity — a gap the guide flags specifically for consumers managing thyroid conditions, taking thyroid medication, or using other iodine-containing supplements.
Additional Botanicals
Rou Gui (cinnamon bark), Ku Gua (bitter melon), Xian Mao and Tian Men Dong each carry traditional-use histories with varying degrees of modern human research — cinnamon and bitter melon research varies by species and preparation, while Xian Mao and Tian Men Dong’s literature is weighted toward traditional use, laboratory work and animal models rather than large controlled human trials. Hong Hua Fen, 4′,5,7-trihydroxyflavone, and the proprietary names Solidilin and Drilizen appear on the label without individually disclosed quantities.
“A study involving 500 mg of one botanical cannot tell us what that ingredient contributes when its individual amount within a combined blend is not disclosed,” Shaw said. “That is why the research overview reports the study dose and population alongside the findings rather than applying those findings directly to Volume Pills.”
Manufacturing and Label Currency
Consumers should use the current physical Supplement Facts panel as the definitive source for serving instructions, ingredient information and warnings, since formulas and label specifications can change over time independent of older marketing materials.
Safety and Suitability
People taking prescription medication should discuss supplement use with a healthcare professional before starting Volume Pills. Zinc intake should be considered alongside other supplement and dietary sources. Reishi may interact with anticoagulant, antiplatelet or immunosuppressive medications. Seaweed-derived ingredients vary in iodine content. People with thyroid, liver, or other diagnosed medical conditions should obtain professional guidance before using multi-ingredient botanical supplements. Dietary supplements are not substitutes for clinical diagnosis or treatment.
Frequently Asked Questions
Has the complete Volume Pills formula been independently tested? No. No clinical trial of the complete formula was identified for this release; each study cited examined a single ingredient in isolation.
Does Volume Pills disclose individual botanical amounts? Zinc is disclosed at 24 mg; the remaining ingredients are combined within a 1,458 mg proprietary blend without individual amounts.
Does the cordyceps research support a specific benefit? No — the cited trial found no significant improvement over placebo, and is included specifically to illustrate why a botanical’s presence shouldn’t be assumed to indicate an effect.
Who should consult a doctor before use? Anyone taking prescription medication, managing thyroid or liver conditions, or taking anticoagulant, antiplatelet or immunosuppressive medications.
About Volume Pills
Leading Edge Health is a Canadian health and wellness company established in 2001 and based in Victoria, British Columbia, developing and distributing dietary supplements across men’s wellness, healthy aging, personal care and general nutritional categories. Volume Pills is one product within that portfolio, sold in tablet form through VolumePills.com.
References
[1] National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements — Zinc: Health Professional Fact Sheet.
[2] Parcell AC, Smith JM, Schulthies SS, Myrer JW, Fellingham G. Cordyceps Sinensis (CordyMax Cs-4) supplementation does not improve endurance exercise performance. International Journal of Sport Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism. 2004;14(2):236-242.
[3] Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center — Reishi Mushroom.
[4] Kapoor MP, et al. Clinical evaluation of Emblica officinalis in healthy human subjects. Contemporary Clinical Trials Communications. 2019;17:100499.
[5] Gupta R, Singhal S, Goyle A, Sharma VN. Antioxidant and hypocholesterolaemic effects of Terminalia arjuna tree-bark powder. Journal of the Association of Physicians of India. 2001.
[6] Kapoor D, et al. Short-Term Adjuvant Therapy with Terminalia arjuna Attenuates Ongoing Inflammation and Immune Imbalance in Patients with Stable Coronary Artery Disease. Journal of Cardiovascular Translational Research. 2015.
[7] National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements — Iodine: Health Professional Fact Sheet.
Media Contact
Kevin Shaw, Product Head
Volume Pills, Leading Edge Health
300-1095 McKenzie Avenue, Victoria, BC V8P 2L5
Email: support@volumepills.com
Website: volumepills.com
Disclaimer: These statements have not been evaluated by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Volume Pills is a dietary supplement and is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Research referenced in this release concerns individual ingredients studied independently and does not constitute clinical evaluation of the complete Volume Pills formulation or endorsement by the cited researchers, journals or institutions.
